Take Heart

I’ve been dreaming of creating a blog with all of the sisters for a few months now because I think they all have really cool lives that should be documented somewhere and now it’s finally happening!  Yay!  Unfortunately, I have not been gifted with writing (like my sisters) nor do I really enjoy it (ask my parents who’ve had to deal with my emotional meltdowns when attempting to write an essay–bless you, mom and dad).  The only time I am motivated to write is when it’s about something I’m interested in or something I’ve learned that I feel like sharing with the whole world (and I guess that whole world gets to be you, so sorry).  This post is going to be closer to the latter and is one I wrote last semester during one of my few free moments. Enjoy:

Monday, April 18th, 2016

Sometimes I get so frustrated because I know that there is a perfect, beautiful heaven waiting for me where I can spend every moment in the presence of my Savior and yet I am stuck here on earth.  Why can’t God just zap me into heaven right now?  Doesn’t He love me and want to spend eternity with me as well?  Why do I have to be stuck in this “almost” stage?  (I apologize, sometimes I get a little dramatic and wallow in self-pity).

My friend, Sarabeth, read me a portion of a book she was reading, Dug Down Deep, a few weeks ago and it basically says this; that we live in an in-between stage of the “already” and “not yet”.  Jesus has already given us salvation but has not yet fully freed us of the presence of sin and death.  This was comforting to her because it meant that she didn’t need to be frustrated by ongoing struggles with sin because God hasn’t completely demolished sin.  But for me, it was frustrating.  Why can’t we skip this whole “not yet” deal and move on to the partying with Jesus?  There are many answers to this question but one that hit me in the face a few minutes ago was that I was complaining about a completely free (yet extremely pricey), unimaginable, beautiful gift that was given to me because I wanted the whole gift right now (what a brat, I know).  But not only has Jesus given us salvation and the promise of eternal life, He has also given us yet another beautiful gift while we are still on earth:

“Do not leave Jerusalem, but wait for the gift my Father promised, which you have heard me speak about.  For John baptized with water, but in a few days you will be baptized with the Holy Spirit… you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes on you; and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the ends of the earth.”

-Acts 1.4-8

Though I complain, I forget the wonderful gift God has given me now, the Holy Spirit.  It’s nothing I can comprehend.  It equips me to be a witness to those around me and gives me strength to live this life God has planned for me, a life in which I will get to participate in the sufferings of Christ.

I know that whatever happens life will be hard and I will undergo persecutions just as Christ did, but there is a joy that is to come that will outshine all the hurt and pain.

“I consider everything a loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things.  I consider them rubbish, that I may gain Christ and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which is through faith in Christ—the righteousness that comes from God and is by faith.  I want to know Christ and the power of his resurrection and the fellowship of sharing in his sufferings, becoming like him in his death, and so, somehow, to attain to the resurrection from the dead.”

-Philippians 3.8-11

And one last passage for you all and then I’ll end my monologue.  This passage seemed appropriate for today because in my last class we were discussing pregnancy/birthing and I thought I was going to throw up or faint from sympathy pains.  After the wonderfully detailed depiction of child birth from my professor, I wondered why any woman would willingly choose to put her body through that torture.  Then I remembered this passage:

“I tell you the truth, you will weep and mourn while the world rejoices.  You will grieve, but your grief will turn to joy.  A woman giving birth to a child has pain because her time has come; but when her baby is born she forgets the anguish because of her joy that a child is born into the world.  So with you: Now is your time of grief, but I will see you again and you will rejoice, and no one will take away your joy… I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace.  In this world you will have trouble.  But take heart!  I have overcome the world.”

-John 16.20-33

Although life is no heaven right now, I can go into “battle” knowing that God has already won the war.  What a great way to live!  I don’t need to worry about what my future holds because God is already there and He has already claimed the victory.  He has my life in His hands and He has already created a beautiful plan for it.  I can’t wait to see what happens next 🙂

-Landry

Leave a Reply

