Life Giver

There’s something so wonderful about sustaining life, which I have found out as a plant mom (not pictured: my two dying herbs and succulent). But what is even more wonderful is giving life. I’m not talking about giving birth, although I’m sure that’s wonderful in an extremely painful, mysterious sort of way. I’m thinking more on the lines of giving life to others, through encouraging words or thoughtful gestures. Lifting others up in what you say and do. This is something that, although I think is wonderful, I struggle with a lot. Especially when it comes to other women. Why is it so easy to look at other women as competition, as something to measure ourselves up against? I do this all the time, I look at other women’s strengths and weaknesses and see how mine compare. I’m jealous of their gifts and talents and see those things as something my gifts and talents have to compete with. Although “the culture” (movies, social media, songs, etc.) is promoting this idea that women have to be in constant competition against each other, God has a whole different view on the subject. He created us all unique for a purpose. God gifted each woman (and man) with different attributes/characteristics of himself and because of that we are able to compliment each other with our unique gifts. We are able to best represent God when we work together and use our gifts to lift one another up. But when we are constantly tearing each other down (whether out loud or in our minds) we are, essentially, doing the exact opposite.

So I just wanted to encourage myself and all of you to put an end to this popular world view that women are at war with one another. It is so destructive. And that is why I am making this post, mainly as a reminder for me, but also as an apology to all of you I have been comparing myself to and viewing as competition. This may not be something that everyone struggles with (in fact-sometimes I feel like I’m the only one because I have such wonderful friends that love on me & others so well), but it is something that I have been convicted of and want to change. So first I want to apologize to all of you. Second, to encourage all of us to start looking at one another as teammates and viewing each other’s strengths as assets. And to then go a step further; highlight and showcase these strengths. Encourage and uplift one another. Be a life giver. 

For by the grace given me I say to every one of you: Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment, in accordance with the faith God has distributed to each of you. For just as each of us has one body with many members, and these members do not all have the same function, so in Christ we, though many, form one body, and each member belongs to all the others. We have different gifts, according to the grace given to each of us.

Romans 12.3-6

Leave a Reply

